Posted by: Jersey Boys Music | April 24, 2009

sci: year one [week 38] + BLOG FEATURE

Howdy ya’ll! First off, as some of you may know, I was featured on a blog earlier this week.  Asian Rap Worldwide is a blog that’s dedicated to Asians in the Hip-Hop scene.  The blog’s owner, Royal, was kind enough to put up a post about my “sci: year one” project.  In case you didn’t see it, here’s a link to that: http://asianrapworldwide.blogspot.com/2009/04/sci-sci-year-one.html
Again, I wanna thank Royal for taking the time to listen to my music and putting something up about it.  I really appreciate it!  Definitely feel free to look through Royal’s blog cuz it has some great content.  Again, http://asianrapworldwide.blogspot.com!  Now on to the music this week.

week 38: amasian
http://www.divshare.com/download/7196448-f21
When I first heard Kanye’s 808s album, I thought this beat was SO DOPE.  I love that it’s drum and percussion driven.  The sounds he used are very primitive and are “pre-war” like.  Just imagine a tribe getting ready to go to war playing this [minus the piano].  The savage yelling in the background plays well behind the hard, raw sounding drums.  Listen to the percussion playing under the snare and kick.  It just keeps repeating over and over, almost to the point where it’s provocative.  Though it’s simple to the ear, I think this beat is so crazy when you just sit and nitpick through it with your ear.  I hope you enjoy my quick in and out verse on here.  I enjoyed making the bounce and the sing song flow I did on it.  I feel like anyone can rap but the presentation is what makes a GOOD rapper stand out.
Before I go, I just wanted to make clear about what “sci: year one” is about.  First and foremost, this project is about me experimenting as an artist.  It allows me to try different things in terms of songwriting, composition, delivery, concept and content – almost to the point of no regard for consequence.  Now, because I’m a very expressive person [especially in my music], sci: year one PERSONALLY serves as a time capsule FOR ME.  I like listening to a song and remembering why I wrote something or why I said something.  It reminds me of how I was feeling or what I was going through at that time.  I think this is good for me because it reminds me of my rights AND wrongs.  I’ve written somethings in these songs that I’m not proud of…but I don’t regret saying any of those things because I can look back and LEARN from them.  Like I told you all before, “I rarely hold back from saying anything in my songs because I use it as my personal diary. The only difference is that you just happen to hear it in audio form.”

Till next week,

sci.

Leave a Reply

Categories

